Philippine Consulate General in Honolulu, Hawaii > Philippine Consulate General in Honolulu, Hawaii >> News


06/10/2010: Filipino American League of Engineers and Architects (FALEA) celebrates its 17th Anniversary

4 October 2010. The Filipino-American League of Engineers and Architects (FALEA) celebrated its 17th Anniversary and Installation of Officers Banquet at the Pacific Beach Hotel, Honolulu, on 2 October 2010.  In FALEA’s Souvenir Program, the newly-elected Officers posed proudly in front of the Filipino Community Center, a  symbol of FALEA’s first significant service to the Filipino Community in the State of Hawaii.  FILCOM  Center, located in Waipahu, is the biggest Filipino community center in the United States.


Consul General Leoncio Cardenas commended FALEA’s accomplishments through the years and for the unity and strong sense of community it fosters to its members.  He highlighted the  high regard accorded to Filipino engineers and architects in the State of Hawaii and conveyed his congratulations to one of FALEA’s outstanding members, Mr. Lito Alcantra, President of Group Builders Inc., who was recently awarded the prestigious 2010 Global Twenty Outstanding Filipinos Abroad (TOFA) in Washington DC.

The 17th Anniversary celebrations also featured  the Presentation of Awards to outstanding FALEA members who exemplify the League’s tradition of professionalism, integrity and service to the Community. Recipients of the 2010 Outstanding Members in the field of Engineering, Architecture, Surveying and Related Scientific/Technical Professions are Maria Domingo, Marcelino C. Labasan, John C. Ramos, William Rapisura, Roberto Rongcal and Gil Pablo Bumanglag.  Leading the 2010 FALEA Scholarship Award Recipients are Elvine Philip Pineda, a BS Mechanical Engineering student at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge and who recently won, as MIT representative, 1st Place in the 2009 Robocom International Design Competition in Japan.   Other recipients of the scholarship award are Goeffrey C. Tran, Jose Edilberto Legaspi, Anthony Sylvester III, Marc Ragasa and Riza Marie Gatdula.